When: 09:00 - 10:30 Thursday, 2nd February, 2023
Location: The Edge: Margarinfabrikken 2
Type: Side Event, In-Person Only
Chairs: University of Bergen, Academia Europaea, Norwegian Polar Institute, UiT - The Arctic University of Norway Tromsø, The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (DNVA).

Senior adviser Kristin Bakken, Academia Europaea, Bergen, Norway. University of Bergen, Bergen, Norway

Session Description

War, pandemic, climate change, biodiversity loss, energy crisis and geopolitical tensions are now part of our everyday life, especially for people living in or near the Arctic. Scientific and evidence-based state-to-state cooperation have historically been intertwined and of high importance in the Arctic, and even in periods when relationships have been strained, collaboration and dialogue has remained operative in this region.

This tight connection between science and diplomacy has traditionally helped reduce geopolitical tensions and facilitated international resource management. However, after Russia’s invasion in Ukraine, the Russo-western relationship has entered an ice-cold face. Due to the war and international sanctions, science, science-based decisions, and science diplomacy suffers severely.

Without access to Russian scientists and territory, scientific data become incomplete, creating additional crisis. Reduced international Arctic science collaboration may have severe consequences for climate research and other important scientific topics like social science and ocean ecosystems. The event will highlight and debate following questions:

  • What is the status of Arctic Science diplomacy and collaboration?
  • What are the effects of war on scientific collaborations in the north?
  • What are the effects of the war on volume and value of arctic science?
  • What avenues can we foresee for Arctic Science and science diplomacy?


Ole Øvretveit, manager of Arctic Science diplomacy project, Academia Europaea

Lise Øvreås, President of The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

Ole Arve Misund, executive Director, Norwegian Polar Institute

Nicole Biebow, Chair of The European Polar Board/Alfred Wegner Institute (digital: via ZOOM)

Eystein Jansen, Vice President, European Research Council

Mike Sfraga, Chair, US Arctic Research Commission

Clara Ganslandt, Special Envoy for Arctic Matters to the EU

Petteri Vuorimäki, Finnish Arctic Ambassador

Dag Rune Olsen, UiT - The Arctic University of Norway, Rector

Lars Kullerud, President, UArctic