Friday, October 20

16:10–17:05 The Finalists of Frederik Paulsen Arctic Academic Action Award

Organized by UArctic and Arctic Circle


  • Mary Albert, Toku Oshima: Community-led Investments in Climate & Food Security: An Inclusive Model for Arctic Energy Transitions
  • N. Stuart Harris: Temperature is a Vital Sign: Climate Change and Population Health in Alaska’s Northwest Arctic
  • Scott Hosking, Ellen Bowler: IceNet: AI Arctic sea ice forecasts for people and wildlife
  • Minik Thorleif Rosing: Glacial Rock Flour – a simple natural agent in mitigating the global polycrisis


  • Arja Rautio, Former Chair of the UArctic Academic Advisory Board (Mimir)
  • Gunnar Stefánsson, UArctic Vice-President Research, Chair of the UArctic Academic Advisory Board (Mimir)


The winner of the 2023 Award will be announced on the evening of October 20 at the Arctic Circle Assembly reception starting at 19:15.


Watch the shortlisted nominees talk about their award-nominated work in the introduction videos: 

Click here to read more about the finalists