Project directors:

Gorm Winther, Professor (em), Agio Global Research and Consult,

Ivar Jonsson, Professor, Østfold University College

Project and Program Coordinator, Søren Bitsch


Status and Presentation of the Projects Focus on Human Security

The Impact of International security and conflicts on the Arctic

Towards Self-sufficiency – Digitalizing Arctic Societies in the New Cold War Era

Turning the Nordic Countries into the Warfare States in the Far North - the Norwegian Case.

EU in the Arctics

Arctic Environmental Security: Complex Dynamics in a Region of Change

Environmental and Human Security in the Arctic


A Multidisciplinary Approach to the Conceptualization of Human Security Through Social innovations,

Participatory Organizations and Democratic ownership

Employee Share Ownership and cooperatives - What Is a Democratic Enterprise?

Cooperatives in Greenland and Denmark - Transfer of Danish Models

The Participatory Economy in Theory and Practice in Arctic Regions

Cooperatives, Social Entrepreneurship, and the Social Economy in Arctic Canada: Opportunities and Challenges

Canadas New Northern Strategy - the Arctic and Northern Policy Framework (ANPF)

From Benefit-Sharing to Benefit Co-Management in Securing Economic Sustainability in the Arctic

Prospects for Sustainable Development in South Greenland: Equity and Distributional Issues.

Fishermen and stakeholders in North Greenland

Institutional Change and Economic Self-Reliance in Rural Alaska

Population History of Alaska Natives

Round Table Discussion: Political Interventions and attacks on our Academic Freedoms - Arctic Researchers’ International Cooperation with our Russian Colleagues


Others to be announced


Resource persons:

Frances Abele (Carlton University, Ottawa), Matthew Berman (University of Alaska, Anchorage), Rasmus Gjedssø Bertelsen (UiT-Norges arktiske universitet, Tromsø), Søren Bitsch (Former North Atlantic Regional Studies, Roskilde University), Douglas Casey (Harvard University), Miriam Cullen (Copenhagen University), Glenn Diesen (Universitetet i Søraust-Norge), Søren Dosenrode (Aalborg University), Gerard Duhaime (University Laval, Quebec), Karen Everett (Universite Laval, Quebec), Nadezhda Filimonova (Harvard University), Lassi Heininen (University of Lapland), Diane Hirshberg (University of Alaska Anchorage), Timothy Heleniak (Nordregio, Stockholm), Terry Huskey (University of Alaska, Anchorage), Jan Holm Ingemann (Aalborg University), Ivar Jonsson, Østfold University College, Halden), Mariia Kobzeva (UiT-Norges arktiske universitet, Tromsø),  Joan Nymand Larsen (Stefansson Arctic Institute, Akureyri), Marc Mathieu (European Association for Employee Share Ownership, Bruxelles) Rasmus Leander Nielsen (University of Greenland), Hanne Petersen (Copenhagen University), Andrey N. Petrov (University of Northern Iowa), Birger Poppel (University of Greenland),  Carina Ren (Aalborg University), Karoline Sommer, (Former University of Greenland), Chris Southcott (Lakehead University, Thunder Bay), Gorm Winther (Aalborg University)

(Others to be announced).

Papers will be peer-reviewed and published by an acknowledged international reader.

Extended Abstracts for reviewing should be forwarded to or  - Please note the deadlines. The working language of the workshop will be English.

 All inquiries regarding the workshop should be forwarded to or

Participants without an approved paper are expected to finance all expenses themselves. The SEPA project operates on a limited budget, so participants presenting a paper are encouraged to self-finance. It is possible to participate without presenting a paper at your own expense.

The deadline for registering your participation is July 1st, 2022. It will be possible to participate via Zoom.

For the SEPA project