Korea Polar Research Institute (KOPRI) is a government-sponsored polar research institute of the Republic of Korea. While serving as the operator of national polar programs, KOPRI also advocates international cooperation in polar science and research.

The Asian Polar Science Fellowship Program was initiated in 2015 to promote Asian research collaboration and provide future generation polar scientists with networking and research opportunities, by making use of its expanding infrastructure and capacity.

The program consists of two categories: the Institute Visiting program, which offers office spaces and/or laboratory access within the KOPRI facilities and the Field Research Program which offers logistics support for conducting field research using KOPRI infrastructure.  

To be eligible, applicants must be scientists or scholars from Asian countries who are currently enrolled in master or doctoral program, or within 5 years (2014-2018) of finishing their master or doctoral degree.  The deadline to apply is February 28, 2019.  

For more information, visit the website or contact fellowship@kopri.re.kr

Korea Polar Research Institute has been a member of the University of the Arctic since 2016.