The event, which takes place at Brussels venue Tour & Taxis on the evening of October 3rd, welcomes honorary members of the foundation, including renowned polar scientists, along with international dignitaries and corporate executives.

The International Polar Foundation was created in 2002 by Belgian polar explorer Alain Hubert and scientists André Berger and Hugo Decleir, as a foundation for the public good tasked with connecting science and society. The Foundation works to raise the profile of polar scientific research, in order to advance human knowledge, and to promote informed action on climate change and the development of a sustainable society.

“It is with great pleasure that the Foundation welcomes our honorary president His Royal Highness Prince Philippe of Belgium to celebrate our first decade”, said International Polar Foundation President Alain Hubert. “Thanks to His support, and the support of our partners and friends, the International Polar Foundation has accomplished goals far beyond our own expectations, and we look forward to another ten years of working for a more sustainable future”.

During its first ten years, the Foundation has developed audacious landmark projects, including the revolutionary zero emission polar research station Princess Elisabeth Antarctica, the annual Arctic Futures Symposium –taking place this week in Brussels, the Class Zero Emission education programme, and the planned network of Polaris Climate Change Observatories.

During the gala evening, the 2012 InBev Baillet-Latour Antarctica Fellowship will be awarded. This annual grant of €150,000 for scientific research, to be conducted at Princess Elisabeth Antarctica research station, is open to young international scientists and promotes scientific excellence. The fellowship is a joint initiative by The InBev Baillet Latour Fund and the International Polar Foundation.

Media Access:
Valid press credentials will be required for entry. A full press briefing will be given at 7pm. Media may be present in the dining area for speeches by His Royal Highness Prince Philippe and Alain Hubert (between 8pm – 8:22pm) and for the presentation of the Inbev Baillet Latour Antarctic Fellowship by Prince Philippe between 9pm and 9:15pm. NOTE: times are approximate.

Dave Walsh, International Polar Foundation Media Officer +32 493 140 966,

Co-founded by Belgian explorer and civil engineer Alain Hubert, and Professors emeriti André Berger, climatologist at the Université Catholique de Louvain, and Hugo Decleir, glaciologist at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel, the International Polar Foundation was established as a charitable non-profit organisation in 2002, and is a private foundation of public utility, set up under Royal Statute.

International Polar Foundation:
Princess Elisabeth Antarctica:
Arctic Futures:
Class Zero Emission:
InBev-Baillet Latour Antarctica Fellowship:
Polar Climate Change Observatory: