Governance Bodies


UArctic's Board is our highest governing body and has general responsibility for UArctic’s strategic development and setting main priorities, including finances and staffing. The Board is made up of elected individuals all of whom serve in their personal capacities on behalf of UArctic. A student representative is also included as a member of the Board. Board Chair, members and student representatives are elected by the Assembly.

Frederik Paulsen (Chair)
Anne Husebekk (Vice-Chair)
Jouko Niinimäki (Vice-Chair)
Ross A. Virginia (Member)
Magnús Tumi Gudmundsson (Member)
Johanna Ikäheimo (Member)
Tore Furevik (Member)
Aaja Chemnitz Larsen (Member)
Lesley Brown (Member)
Pat K. Pitney (Member)
Birgitta Bergvall-Kåreborn (Member)
Robert Sauvé (Member)
Juho Kähkönen (Student Representative)
Montana Rose Murphy (Student Representative)
Viljo Vuorimäki (Student Representative)
Outi Snellman (Secretary)

Frederik Paulsen (Chair)
Jouko Niinimäki (Vice-Chair)
Anne Husebekk (Member)
Pat K. Pitney (Member)
Lars Kullerud (Member)
Outi Snellman (Secretary)


Each member of UArctic is represented in the Assembly, which oversees our program development and the direction of the organization. The Assembly also acts as a forum of consultation, networking and cooperation between all members. To address the Assembly's general responsibilities, Committees are maintained. Assembly member representatives and committee members meet annually. Assembly Officers and all Committee members are elected by the Assembly.