Hannes Manninen of Finland, Chair of the Standing Committee, pointed out that the workshop is a continuation of a discussion by SCPAR and the UArctic Rectors’ Forum in Rovaniemi, Finland, in February 2008. The speakers at the workshop in Helsinki were Lars Kullerud, President of UArctic; Hossain Kamrul, Senior Research Scientist, Arctic Centre, University of Lapland, Finland; Harald Brekke, Senior Geologist and member of the Convention; and Saksina Tatiana, Arctic Governance Officer, WWF.


From the left Björn-Willy Robstad, Hannes Manninen and Guy Lindström
(Photo: Outi Snellman)

Lars Kullerud, a geologist by training, addressed the Parliamentarians with a presentation on the geology of the Arctic.

Related Document:
Proceedings of the Joint Seminar of UArctic Rectors’ Forum and the Standing Committee of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region